

The Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act of 2019

Background: The Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, otherwise known as RGGI, is a market-based program in New England and Mid-Atlantic states to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the power sector. RGGI currently involves nine states—Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont—and has been in effect since January 1, 2009. New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Virginia have also taken steps in recent months toward joining RGGI.

<u>The Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act</u> would help establish new regional greenhouse gas reduction programs, expand existing programs such as RGGI and the Western Climate Initiative, and support states that are already members of such programs by:

- 1. Creating an Office of Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Programs within the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to provide states with analysis and technical assistance related to regional greenhouse gas emissions programs, and to develop and share best practices.
- 2. Establishing a grant program to provide grants for state and local governments to take preliminary steps toward developing or participating in a regional greenhouse gas reduction program.

The Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act would also establish an interagency task force to determine additional ways to help support and expand regional greenhouse gas reduction programs.