Skip to content

Senator Hassan Cosponsors Bipartisan Legislation Requiring POW/MIA Flag to be Displayed With American Flag on Federal Properties

WASHINGTON – As part of her efforts to honor the more than 82,000 Americans who are listed as Prisoners of War (POW), Missing in Action (MIA), or otherwise unaccounted for from our nation’s past wars and conflicts, Senator Maggie Hassan recently cosponsored the bipartisan National POW/MIA Flag Act, which would require the POW/MIA flag to be displayed whenever the American flag is displayed on prominent federal properties.

“As we work to build a country that is ever-worthy of the courageous men and women who have served, we cannot let up in our efforts to account for all of the prisoners of war and those soldiers missing in action who have sacrificed bravely in defense of our freedoms,” Senator Hassan said. “As families and friends of those soldiers continue to feel uncertainty about the fate of their loved ones, this bipartisan legislation embodies our country’s enduring commitment to all those who have served.”

The National POW/MIA Flag Act was introduced by Senators Tom Cotton (R-AK) and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA, and a companion bill was introduced in the House of Representatives by Congressman Chris Pappas (NH-01) and Congressman Jack Bergman (MI-01).

Under current law, the POW/MIA Flag is required to be displayed by the federal government on certain prominent federal properties only six days per year: Armed Forces Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, Independence Day, National POW/MIA Recognition Day, and Veterans Day. The National POW/MIA Flag Act would require the POW/MIA Flag to be displayed concurrently with the American flag and every day at federal locations already designated under existing law. Prominent federal properties include the U.S. U.S. Capitol, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the Korean War Veterans Memorial, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, every national cemetery, the buildings containing the official offices of the Secretaries of State, Defense, and Veterans Affairs, the office of the Director of the Selective Service System, each major military installation (as designated by the Secretary of Defense), each Department of Veterans Affairs medical center, and each United States Postal Service post office.