Skip to content

Shaheen, Hassan Help Introduce Resolution Marking May as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

(Washington, DC) – U.S. Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Maggie Hassan (D-NH) joined Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI) in introducing a resolution marking May as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. The resolution highlights the contributions to our country by generations of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders. 


“Asian Pacific American Heritage Month is a time to celebrate the generations of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who have shaped our nation’s history. Thanks to their achievements and contributions, the fabric of our country is richer and stronger,” said Shaheen. “As we recognize AAPI accomplishments and culture, we must also double down on our commitment to unequivocally condemn and stop the violence and hate that is targeting AAPI communities. Our nation’s diversity is our strength, and I am proud to stand with our AAPI communities in solidarity against the surge in racist attacks.” 


“During Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, we celebrate and reflect on all the rich contributions that Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders have made to our country,” said Hassan. “And this year, we also commit to addressing the tragic rise in hate crimes against the AAPI community. I will continue to stand together with Senator Hirono and my colleagues to support the AAPI community. We all have a responsibility and duty to speak out against prejudice and hate of any kind.”   


The legislation is also cosponsored by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chris Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tina Smith (D-MN), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mark Warner (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and Ron Wyden (D-OR). 


The full resolution text is available here.