Skip to content


WASHINGTON, D.C. (June 29, 2021) – On June 23, 2021, the Small Business Council of America (SBCA) presented its 38th Annual Congressional Awards.  The SBCA is a national non-partisan nonprofit organization which has represented the interests of more than 100,000 privately-held and family-owned organizations on federal tax, employee benefit and health care issues for more than forty years.


The Congressional Awards are presented on a bipartisan basis to members of the Senate and House in recognition of their efforts in support of small business. The presentation of the awards in Washington, D.C. has long been the highlight of the SBCA’s annual calendar. This year, due to COVID-19, the SBCA presented the Congressional Awards in a virtual awards ceremony.


The SBCA was proud to present the following awards:


Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID) received the Congressional Award for his efforts on behalf of small business in connection with federal tax matters as ranking member of the Senate Finance Committee. “Idaho’s small businesses are the driving engines of our economy and represent approximately 99 percent of all businesses in our state.  Work continues to ensure those that have suffered a great deal through the COVID-19 pandemic can survive long-term” said Senator Crapo.  “I am honored to receive the Small Business Council of America’s Congressional Award, and I will continue to push for policies that effectively assist the small business community.”


“Senator Crapo has time and again shown his commitment to small business owners, supporting legislation enabling pass-through entities to be on a more level playing field with their much larger brethren” said Gary Kushner, presenter of the award and President of SBCA.  “We look forward to continuing to work with Senator Crapo on tax matters, including on proposed changes in the estate tax area and to enact positive changes to enable small businesses owners to participate in employee benefit plans.  Senator Crapo’s extensive work on the Senate Finance committee is laudable for his approach to business interests and we are pleased to recognize him with this award.”


Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH) was presented with the Congressional Award in recognition of her bi-partisan efforts to extend and expand the employee retention tax credit (ERTC) and to help relieve small businesses of the burdens imposed on them by the Supreme Court’s ruling in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.  “Small businesses are the engines of our economy, helping drive economic growth and create good-paying jobs,” said Senator Hassan. “The past year was particularly tough on small businesses, but even in the face of unprecedented circumstances, business owners did all that they could to stay afloat, keep workers employed, and serve their customers. Small businesses across the country spoke out about what they needed during the pandemic, and that feedback was immensely valuable as we worked on a bipartisan basis to support programs that have provided businesses with relief. It is an honor to receive this award from the SBCA, and I look forward to continuing to work on policies to help our small businesses thrive.”


SBCA CEO & Vice President/Legislation Matthew F. Kadish, who presented the award said “the SBCA salutes Senator Hassan’s efforts at bipartisanship, including as a key negotiator in the recently announced Bipartisan Infrastructure deal.  She is able to see things from both sides of the aisle, and has a demonstrated commitment to small businesses and entrepreneurship.  In particular, with this award we recognize the Senator as a top leader and ally in providing small businesses the critical lifelines to help them survive in the pandemic economy.”


Representative Mike Gallagher (R-WI-08) was awarded the Congressional Award in acknowledgment of his efforts to pursue common-sense bi-partisan solutions on behalf of the nation’s small businesses. “From the COVID-19 pandemic to a crippling workforce shortage, small businesses across Northeast Wisconsin have faced enormous challenges over the course of the past year,” said Representative Gallagher. “We have to ensure these businesses can make money and employ workers, and it’s an honor to be recognized for my efforts to help do so. There’s more work to be done – particularly when it comes to ending the federal unemployment plus-up – and I look forward to continue fighting to help Northeast Wisconsin businesses.”


“Congressman Gallagher is a member of the Problem Solvers Caucus, and has consistently sought to achieve long-term, broad-based policy solutions to our country's problems, rather than short-term political objectives,” said Tom Nichols, the presenter of the award and a member of the SBCA’s Legal Advisory Board. “An excellent example is his recent co-sponsorship of the Trust Act intended to address the glaring and politically difficult problem of insolvency in our Medicare, Social Security and highway trust funds. He is a substantive politician willing to roll up his sleeves to understand and address our nation's strengths and weaknesses.” 


Representative Stephanie Murphy (D-FL-07) received the Congressional Award for her commitment to small business issues and her efforts to expand the employee retention tax credit (ERTC) including through her sponsorship of the JOBS Credit Act of 2020.  “Small businesses are the lifeblood of our national economy and Florida’s economy,” said Representative Murphy. “When the COVID crisis hit our small businesses hard, I led an effort to enact an employee retention tax credit to help them retain or rehire workers. I was honored to receive the Small Business Council of America’s 2021 Congressional Award in recognition of this initiative.”


SBCA Board Member Sandra Turner who presented the award said “Represenative Murphy’s family runs a small business and before joining Congress she counseled entreprenuers, especially women, seeking to start their own businesses.  She understands that small buisnesses are a labor of love and knows how well intentioned laws can have the unintended effect of preventing small businesses from starting and thriving. It is a great pleasure to be able to recognize Representative Murphy’s achievements with this award.” 



Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) was also recognized at the awards ceremony and was presented with her previously awarded 2020 Congressional Award. “Small businesses are the backbone of our economy. And that backbone suffered a major blow when coronavirus pandemic lockdowns across the country slowed business to a trickle and, in some cases, shut business down entirely” said Senator Murkowski. “During my tenure as US Senator, I’ve been an ardent supporter of small businesses, including addressing the circumstances of small businesses in rural communities. That support is needed as small businesses work to overcome the challenges brought on by the pandemic. I’m proud to do what I can at the federal level to provide opportunities for our small businesses to recover and thrive and in turn, support our local economies. Thank you to SBCA for this recognition.”


“Senator Murkowski understands the complex issues facing our nation’s small businesses particularly those trying to survive in more rural communities.” Said SBCA Board Member Mitchell Rubin who presented the award. “During her nearly two decades of service in the Senate, Senator Murkowski has demonstrated her commitment to putting the needs of America’s businesses and employees before politics and to promoting sustainable fiscal policies.  We are peased to present this award to the Senator in acknowledgement of these efforts.” 


The SBCA offers congratulations to all of its award winners.